PROPOSAL ESSAY POST-MORTEM REPORT

1) What were some of the challenges you encountered as a switched genres, i.e. from writing a research essay that primarily aims to inform to writing a proposal essay that primarily aims to persuade? How did you deal with those challenges?

It was difficult for me to adjust to the new persuasive genre at first. However, after sitting down with the teacher I was able to get on track and make a good essay that had effective wording. I also decided to use other sources to make a more defined viewpoint.

2) What would you say are the strengths of your Proposal Essay? Where are you at your most persuasive?

The struggle was transitioning to the persuasive style of writing. I also had to change my sources and get very current information to ne more persuasive. I feel my intro was very persuasive and set out a good transition to the rest of my essay.

3) What audience did you have in mind as you wrote our Proposal Essay? How did you make rhetorical choices based on that audience?

My audience was the American public in general but more focused towards college students and graduates with outstanding college debt. As a result I used formal language in my essay and relevant examples for my audience to connect to.

4) What did your writing process look like for this Proposal Essay? Is that different in any way from what it looked like for your Mapping the Problem Essay? What accounts for those differences?

My writing process had a modified mapping the problem essay as my first draft. However, this was wrong and after identifying the problem I wrote in the correct format and made it persuasive. My sources were more current and my language had more ‘aggressive’ and persuasive words compared to my previous essays.

Leave a comment